How to Avoid forced restart after Windows Update

Preamble

You decide to install the latest updates for your computer.
Once they are installed, a restart is required for changes to be made.
Moreover, a small window to get you to do so as soon as possible.

However, you may not want to reboot (for some reason).

To do this, you must click on the [Restart Later].

Problematic

The problem is that Windows will remind you frequently need to restart your computer.
Pop-up blocker (see picture) will appear and ask you to reboot.

But the worst is when Windows restarts without your consent.
If you press once on the [Restart Later] Windows decides after a while to restart itself (by running a countdown).

So how can we do to stop receiving these messages nuisance?

Because once the missing messages, you can restart whenever you want. :-)

Solutions

Windows XP

Here’s one way to get rid of (but not definitely)
You must have installed the updates, and you click once on [Restart Later].

  • Click on Start / Run
  • Type in the dialog box net stop wuauserv
  • Confirm by clicking OK.

By doing this, you stop the service “Automatic Updates”.

This service is designed to download and install updates to Windows.
Thus, the window will no longer appear during restart your session.

NB: This service will automatically run the next time you restart the computer.
We must therefore perform this trick at every new installation of updates.
To make life easier, it is enough to create a shortcut on the desktop with the command line to stop the service and use it whenever needed is simple and convenient.

=> Create a shortcut to stop the service of Updates <=

  • Click New, Shortcut
  • A dialog box opens. Type net stop wuauserv and press enter.
  • Enter a descriptive name for your shortcut
  • If you wish, you can personalize it (change the icon)
  • Pop it in the taskbar.

And now: to each proposed restart, simply click on this icon.

Windows 7

The following tip explains how to avoid the automatic reboot of the machine after the recovery of major update to Windows Update in Windows 7. Manipulation to make conciste to make a change to the registry system. Like any kind of manipulation, it is advisable anyway to undo a backup of the registry.

  • Click on the Start menu
  • In the search bar, type regedit to access the registry.
  • Deploy the registry tree to the aster of the explorer who is on the left of the screen:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ Software \ Policies \ Microsoft \ Windows]

  • Right click on Windows> New> Key.
  • WindowsUpdate enter as the key name.
  • Then right-click the new key created WindowsUpdate and select New> Key.
  • Name the new key
  • Again right click on this new key and select New> DWORD (32 bits).
  • Name the value of this key NoAutoRebootWithLoggedOnUsers
  • Double click on it to change the data for this value set to 1.

Leave a Comment